jump to navigation

Hell on Wheels September 27, 2008

Posted by sociallyacceptableinsanity in Atheism.
trackback

Religion.  There seems to be no escaping it.  Just when you think that by avoiding religious services and conversations with bearded homeless guys then you have escaped being preached to, you are hit with pithy little religious bon mots while innocently waiting at a stop light.   Here’s a survey of the pearls of wisdom seen in a typical week in my town. 

“The Big Bang Theory:  God Spoke, and BANG! It happened.  (Ah…so that’s what happened.  Thanks for clearing that up.)

“Tolerance is for the peson who has no conviction.”  (Really creepy)

“Warning:  In case of Rapture, this car will be unmanned!”  (Even creepier)

“Proud to be a Christian from Texas.” (Don’t even get me started on that one….)  

The Overwhelming Evidence Supports Creation, not Evolution.”  (Oh really…then what’s with all of the dinosaur bones?)

Christians aren’t perfect… just forgiven.”  (And perhaps a bit smug, eh?)

And on and on and on it goes. 

There may be hope for the world, though.  Driving home from work yesterday, weary from the onslaught of Christian conviction and holier-than-thou attitude, I chanced to spot a bumper sticker that it took me a couple of seconds to figure out.  As comprehension dawned, I started laughing uncontrollably, and in fact I chuckle every time I think about it.  It said, simply, innocently, cheekily: 

Comments»

1. stacybeemarie - October 3, 2008

Love this post! You did a good job, it’s very funny! I guess I never read what people put on their cars! I need to start. stacy

2. Kriss - October 9, 2008

You and me both, sistah! But at least people do not rip theirs off! I came out of school only to discover, yet again, that two of my newer bumper stickers were gone. My stickers tend to focus around vegetarian eating, the silly (i pee in pools) to my own religious statement, like my Darwin fish. But yes, I love that sticker, and it wraps the post up well! – kriss


Leave a Reply

